The Reason For This Blog

13 Aug

The cover of Jesus Rocks The World:
The Definitive History of Contemporary Christian Music, Volume 1.

The reason why I’m beginning a new blog, titled β€œJesus Rocks The World,” is because my book β€œJesus Rocks The World: The Definitive History of Contemporary Christian Music” will be published by Praeger in September 2012. I hope to help promote it through this blog, with corollary material to supplement and expand on it, as well as get the chance to interact with others. The story begins in the early 1960s, with the Baby Boomer generation coming of age, after graduating from High School and entering the adult world. What it found, it didn’t like, and a revolution of change took place within American society, on every level. Cultural transformation took place from grass roots politics with civil rights and integration, to main line religion with English replacing Latin in the Roman Catholic church and rock and roll entering the front door of the conservative Protestant Christian church.

Music had long been a communication tool, within society, in a covert way. However, by the 1960s, it became a pop genre with the advent of protest music, adopted from folk heroes like Woody Guthrie, who were absorbed by contemporary artists like Bob Dylan. Protest took place on every level of society, including the Christian church, from both the inside and out. The Roman Catholics had Vatican II, meat on Friday, and Folk Mass, while the Protestants converted droves of hippies, who created Jesus Music and rocked the conservative White church. By the beginning of the 1970s, names like Larry Norman, Love Song, and Children of the Day were to church youth what Bob Dylan, the Beatles, and the Mamas and the Papas were to the counter culture.

2 Responses to “The Reason For This Blog”

  1. Marcia April 28, 2014 at 10:03 AM #

    I stumbled on your blog because I was researching Don Brinkman. He bought out my dad’s Co American Impacts in. 1980. Then I read on. I was saved in the Jesus Movement in1970. That era & it’s music made a huge impact in my life. I was. 10 then, & am now 53. Disillusioned & deeply hurt by churches over yrs I feel at the bottom in what was a very strong faith, so I’m commenting. Perhaps you’ve talked with others w/similar stories? This am I read 2Cor 3:16–4:16 and all I could do was cry. Your a good writer.

  2. Marcia April 28, 2014 at 10:05 AM #

    Please notify via email. I prefer this Not be public

Leave a Reply

