This is the 33rd anniversary of the Mt. St. Helens Eruption

18 May

This is the 33rd anniversary of the Mt. St. Helens eruption in 1980. We had just moved to Oregon from Los Angeles, the beginning of May 1980, so we were in the Pacific Northwest, inland about 7 miles from the Oregon Coast, in the city of Toledo. We were over 100 miles from Mt. St. Helens when it erupted, but we heard and felt the explosion, and ash fell the next morning covering our car like confetti. Over the next decade I visited Mt. St. Helens and photographed it, and the devastation that it left,Β from every angle. In 1991 a friend of mine, Phil Hunziker, convinced me to climb it with him. So with Phil, Michael (my 16 year old son), Sandy (a Post Office co-worker),Β and Phil’s next door neighbor (whose name I have forgotten), we climbed to the summit of Mt. St. Helens in September 1991, and looked down at the lava dome.

Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β Β  Over the next couple of decades I got older and did a lot of things that fulfilled my fantasies, without even trying. At the same time I learned about Carl Jung and dream symbolism. Then I began to record my dreams, and I had some memorable ones. They were about volcanoes and I found out that volcanoes in dreams represent God, because of their uncontrollable nature and ability to consume everything. I took this as a confirmation that I was still doing God’s will, and continued on my path. These are some of the shots that I took on our climb to the summit of Mt. St. Helens in 1991.

ImageImageImageImage

One Response to “This is the 33rd anniversary of the Mt. St. Helens Eruption”

  1. Jerry May 18, 2013 at 7:53 AM #

    Nice job Bob.

Leave a Reply

