The Marathon

13 Jun

Image

Opening Prayer: Our Being

Our Omni-Being who inhabits another dimensional realm,

That transcends the limits of our conscious mind and volition,

Your unknowable name is sacred to us,

May the reality of your sphere of existence, coincide with our dimensional plane,

Provide our transitional vehicles with nourishment,

And reciprocate with us as we reciprocate with other sentient beings,

Guide us towards a positive energy flow, and diminish our negative energy voids,

This is your reality and positive energy flow, fading into infinity.

Awomen.

Β 

Back in the time that this photo was taken, I was still wrestling with the theological validity of participating in physical exercise for health, strength, and physical perfection. A dyed-in-the-wool fundamentalist would insist that physical exercise was nothing but vanity that had nothing to do with God’s kingdom, and quote 1 Timothy 4:8 – β€œFor bodily exercise profiteth little: but godliness is profitable unto all things, having promise of the life that now is, and of that which is to come.” (KJV) To me, godliness was achieving perfection, as Jesus said to do in Matthew 5:48. The context is the Sermon on the Mount and relationships with people; however, hard work and exercise increases mental toughness, determination, and endurance. The confidence that honing the body by disciplining the mind to pursue speed, strength, and endurance, creates a path that incorporates both linear and concentric goals. So how could this be bad and not achieve God’s kingdom, I deduced?

I have come to believe in destiny, but let me explain. I believe that each one of us has a destiny that we were born to fulfill. I believe that the words of the Bible support this view and that when Jesus told us to β€œseek ye first the kingdom of God,” that, this kingdom could only be achieved through our accepting its creation as our destiny. We will die at whatever age we live to, as each of our destinies determine, but what we do along the way is where volition comes in the picture.

However, one of the things about the Bible is that it can support a myriad number of theological positions on a variety of subjects. Denominations have split over issues as varied as whether or not men should have beards, to whether the Eucharist is actually the body and blood of Jesus Christ or just a symbol. I believe that if anyone wants to achieve physical perfection for the glory of God as Eric Liddel, God’s runner in Chariots of Fire did, then let it be.

1 Corinthians 9:24-27 states: β€œKnow ye not that they which run in a race run all, but one receiveth the prize? So run, that ye may obtain. And every man that striveth for the mastery is temperate in all things. Now they do it to obtain a corruptible crown; but we an incorruptible. I therefore so run, not as uncertainly; so fight I, not as one that beateth the air: But I keep under my body, and bring it into subjection: lest that by any means, when I have preached to others, I myself should be a castaway.” (KJV)

Besides running, I was a weightlifter as well. A power lifter to be exact. Strength was the goal and it is what I pursued, along with the mental discipline needed to achieve maximum success. I now have trophies indicating my victories, that I keep in a box in a storage shed. Now the argument is moot, as to whether or not God wants me to go work out, because after multiple injuries and surgeries, I can no longer lift weights or run. Now I walk three miles a day, while I think about what I will write when I get back home. Over the decades prior to the present, I read hundreds of books that gave me information that helped me to figure out exactly where I was, in the context of human history, and what my role was to be, in its destiny. Now I want to reciprocate by writing my story.

Everyone has the same calling, which is their destiny. Destiny can be acknowledged and embraced, or it may not even be considered. Awareness doesn’t validate or negate destiny. Awareness of destiny is the true born again experience. Jesus Christ is both a symbol and a reality that represents destiny and the price that must be paid to achieve it. It may take a lifetime to arrive at the point where one finally realizes that this is the moment when destiny is apparent, or it may happen early on, or it may never happen. Take the case of Saddam Hussein, who accepted his destiny when he was found guilty and executed.

Β 

Benediction:

May the Omni-Being be with you and your essential energy flow, radiating into infinity.

Awomen.

Leave a Reply

