Dreams

13 Aug

Image

We all have dreams. However, dreams fall into categories. The two most common categories are first, imagined futures in the conscious world, while the secondΒ  is Β nocturnal movies that play upon the screens of the unconscious mind. This blog entry will deal with the latter, which the author has recently experienced in a greater than normal quantity. Maybe the quantity is not anything unusual, but the fact that I remember them upon waking and write them down in my journal, is. Not that writing down my dreams in my journal is anything unusual, because I always write down memorable dreams in my journal, but these entries are far and few between.

I just had three dreams in less than three weeks, that I wrote down in my journal because of the emotional intensity and vivid recollections that I had upon waking. Then, I began to read previous journal entries, until I came to the last time that I recorded my dreams, ten months ago, in October 2012. In October, I had two identical dreams in a period of two days that had a connecting symbol to the first of my recent three dreams. The connecting symbol was the Gateway Arch to the Midwest, located in St. Louis, Missouri.

In my two identical dreams in October 2012, I was climbing up a tall building or monument, with the arch crowning it. I found myself at the very summit, thousands of feet up, with no idea of how I would get back down. It was smooth, with nothing to grip or hold onto, and I felt a dizzying fear. In the first of my most recent dreams, I found myself in a large area that resembled a state fair that had a giant slide in the middle, which I climbed to the top of. However, when I reached the dizzying summit, I found that it was an enclosed slide, that I was on the outside of. It arched thousands of feet in the air and I found myself on the outside of the enclosed structure, which was made out of smooth surfaced metal with nothing to grip or hold onto, and I panicked about how I would get down.

However, in this dream I found myself back on the ground, and the dream continued, with someone I knew in real life, and then I ended up trapped in a yard with a vicious dog. The next two dreams were different, but involved finding my way through a maze and losing valuables, along with other familiar people. The Bible is rife with examples of dreams and their interpretations. Everyone from Jacob and Joseph, to Daniel and the apostle Paul, had dreams that were interpreted and resulted in spiritual and worldly guidance from the information contained therein. Have you ever dreamed that you were dreaming, only to wake up in a dream that you prayed to God was only a dream?

2 Responses to “Dreams”

  1. thewordthatpierces August 14, 2013 at 11:02 PM #

    Hey dad! πŸ™‚

    Yes, I do read your blog. :D:D:D I can say with all honesty YES, I have had those dreams within a dream, all to often. 😦 Thankfully they are less frequent lately, and when I do have them, I seem to have gotten better at lucid dreaming so I can change the course of them most of the time now. πŸ™‚

    Though lucid dreaming is a whole other issue, haha. It’s been pretty cool though, the last few bad dreams I had I actually turned them around and confronted the situation instead of running from it. I look at that as a reflection of my waking life, I definitely don’t run away from issues anymore, I generally face them head on now. πŸ™‚

    Whenever I have a recurring dream or theme, I pay attention to it. Funny you wrote about dreams because I was thinking of writing about them myself. Love you dad. πŸ˜€

    God Bless ~Amy

  2. thewordthatpierces August 15, 2013 at 2:01 AM #

    PS: Dad, I don’t normally blog, but I have had a bout of things I had to say, and thought you may like my latest blog. ;P http://thewordthatpierces.blogspot.com/2013/08/art-is-meant-to-raise-questions.html

Leave a Reply

