Gay Marriage Upheld by the Supreme Court

26 Jun

Jesus Rocks The World Volume 1 Cover

Gay Marriage upheld by the Supreme Court: Friday, June 26, 2015

Β 

When I wrote “Jesus Rocks The World: The Definitive History of Contemporary Christian Music,” I debated about whether or not I should include a chapter on LGBT contemporary Christian music. The reason why the issue even came up was quite accidental. When I compiled all my research in the form of interviews, articles, essays, and whatnot, I began to categorize it to fit the appropriate chapters. As I whittled everything down I had a file left over that contained fragments of interviews, articles and other items relating to the Gay, Lesbian, Bi-Sexual and Transgender community. Being a heterosexual myself, who was happily married for over 40 years, with 7 children, I had no axe to grind about sexual preferences. However, as a journalist, I was compelled to consider the fact that I had 15,000 words in a file on the subject and my average chapter only contained 5,000 words. Therefore if I edited the material, I would have another chapter.

Β 

At the same time, my religious background rejected the possibility of anything being accepted by the church other than a celibate gay person. Sure you can be gay, but you can’t ever have sex, unless you get married as a heterosexual. Then I read my research on Ray Boltz, who was married with children when he just couldn’t take playing the act anymore in 2008. At the same time I was reading about Marsha [Carter] Stevens-Pino, who I also interviewed in 2008. IΒ saw herΒ perform with Children of the Day, from Calvary Chapel – Costa Mesa, back in 1971 and a number of times afterwards, until she became the first Christian performer to come out of the closet in 1979. Check her out at her website:Β http://www.balmministries.net/. The best way to get the full picture as it relates to CCM is to read my book, “Jesus Rocks The World: The Definitive History of Contemporary Christian Music.” http://www.abc-clio.com/ABC-CLIOCorporate/product.aspx?pc=C5805C

There are those who feel that this is a further sign of the disintegration of morality in America. At one time I chose to take sides in that argument, only because it was required of me to keep my job at the time, but once that was no longer an issue, I ceased to care. The way that I feel, sexuality is a personal and private issue. I don’t find legality in marriage to be an issue, unless the entire nation becomes homosexual and ceases to have children to pay into social security to support their parentsΒ and propagate the nation. I suppose that is the ultimate fear that exacerbates the paranoid rantings of some of the public mouths.

Leave a Reply

